of lake galena

Galena territory @eagle ridge

                                                    Guest Reviews  

galena chalet

​Beautiful Home (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jan 2020
Ryan G.
This house was perfect for our family. We had four adults and three kids and there was more than enough room for our weekend getaway to ski and snowboard in Galena. The home is gorgeous and some of the craftmanship of this chalet was really impressive. The view was awesome, our kids especially enjoyed watching people ice fishing from the wall of windows in the Great Room. The entire community here is very pleasant and the convenience of the general store to pick up a coffee, a bottle of wine or groceries was very nice. As soon as my family departed everyone was in agreement that we'd love to return again in the warmer weather to experience the trails surrounding the property, the lake and golf. The beds were crazy comfortable and the décor was so well thought out. You can literally spend a snowy day in the loft looking at the collection of books and enjoying the view while relaxing on the comfy couch. I would highly recommend this home to anybody if you're traveling to Galena. Our seven year old was so enamored with the chalet that he insisted on leaving his own message in the guestbook for the owners. He wrote "I love you" Ha!
Published Jan 21, 2020

Awesome as always:)  (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Dec 2019
Niki C. 
This was our second time staying at the Galena chalet...and it was as wonderful as the first time. Beautiful house, beautiful view, clean, all the amenities. Will stay here again!
Published Jan 19, 2020

Perfect Weekend Getaway (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Nov 2019
Matthew B. - Naperville
Beautiful home with gorgeous views in a peaceful little community. You can tell the owners truly care about this home due to all the little details that certainly did not go unnoticed. Would highly recommend and I know my friends and I will be back here at some point!
Published Nov 19, 2019

Awesome stay (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Oct 2019
Natalie U.
Beautiful house and gorgeous views. My family and I had a wonderful time! Everything you need was there, even toys to play with for my 2yr old.

Published Oct 10, 2019


Best View in the Territory! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Aug 2019
Amber M.
Everyone had such an amazing time at this property! Plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the view! We cancelled multiple plans to just stay at the house because we didn't want to leave! What a wonderful place!

Published Sep 10, 2019


Beautiful view (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Aug 2019
Lisa R.
Gorgeous house with fabulous view!
Published Sep 12, 2019

Magical getaway (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Aug 2019
Sabrina L.
We celebrated my sisters anniversary at the galena chalet, it was beautiful! The view from the deck was perfect! The host was available when we had questions. We loved the whole experience!!!
Published Aug 19, 2019

Perfect Getaway!! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2019
Meggie B.
This was the perfect place for some of my girlfriends and I to have a weekend away! The views are breathtaking as well as private. The home itself has plenty of room for guests to have their own space, as well as lots of space to make dinners and relax. I would absolutely come back!
Published Aug 13, 2019

Dream Getaway (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2019
Mark G.
We had a beautiful 5-day family getaway at the Galena Chalet. It's remarkable! The view is unbelievable, and the home lovely. It's beautifully decorated and sumptuously comfortable-- we wish we could have stayed (much) longer!
Published Jul 31, 2019

On Golden Pond (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2019
Beautiful property. Accommodating and very responsive owners. Stephanie met and exceeded our expectations. Without question 5 star VRBO.
Published Aug 1, 2019

Private getaway (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jun 2019
MARY W. - Muscatine
This property has a private setting with a beautiful view. Hiking trails near by. Lovely kitchen that was well stocked. Great common areas.

Published Jul 17, 2019


Wow! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jun 2019
Jessie E.
We had a wonderful time. The pictures are amazing, but in person it is 10x more beautiful! Stephanie was so great to work with. Fantastic views, only a few minutes from Galena Cellar vineyards and downtown shopping and restaurants. We will absolutely book a stay again!
Published Jun 10, 2019

The Galena Chalet is an amazing property (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Apr 2019
Susan E.
We had a wonderful experience at the Chalet. It is an Amazing Galena property. It is a great place to disconnect from your daily grind and appreciate the wonderful natural landscape of Galena,
Published May 14, 2019

Perfect Family Birthday Party! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Mar 2019
Sam H.West -  Des Moines
What a perfect venue for a quick family reunion / birthday party weekend. The house is spacious and well stocked with everything we needed to pull off a surprise 70th birthday party with kids and cousins. The kids enjoyed the woods and the yard, the adults enjoyed the chef friendly kitchen that opens into a dining / living area with gorgeous lake views. It was a wonderful weekend that will definitely be repeated.
Published Apr 13, 2019

Great Getaway Home (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Mar 2019
Ronald M.
This is absolutely one of the best properties available on VRBO. Home has plenty of room, real character, and a great view of lake. We spotted various wildlife during our stay and location is very private. Galena is close by and is a wonderful little town, and Dubuque is relatively close and has a fabulous Mississippi River museum and aquarium.
The owner of the Chalet was a pleasure to deal with and we look forward to returning.
Published Apr 13, 2019

Amazing Stay (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Mar 2019
Grant G.
We all had a blast in the Galena Chalet! Great house, great views, great weekend.
The hosts were very kind and easy to work with. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone looking to spend time in the Galena area.
Published Mar 14, 2019

The perfect getaway weekend (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Feb 2019
This was a perfect getaway weekend. We celebrated my dads birthday. It fit my whole family very comfortably. The host was so incredibly helpful and did a super great job of answering all our questions. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. The view is absolutely fantastic!

Published Mar 4, 2019


Great place with great view (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Feb 2019
Mike O.
Great place. Great people to work with. Very accurate description of house and surroundings. Great views of lake. We were there in early February but look forward to going back in summer or fall to take advantage of the beautiful outdoor areas, screened-in porch and deck. Thank you so much.
Published Feb 4, 2019

You will not want to leave... (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jan 2019
Laura L. - Evansville
I booked this property for our annual couples weekend and it was amazing. The property is gorgeous and the views are stunning. We found the beds and other furniture to be comfortable and accommodating for our group of 8. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and the dining room table could easily seat 12.
We went during the winter (January) so we could not enjoy the multiple decks and the screen porch. This place has some serious outdoor entertaining / relaxing spaces. We were able to enjoy watching the snow fall and were entertained by the ice fishermen out on the lake. The fireplace kept us warm and cozy!
Loved it!!
Published Jan 31, 2019

Adorable home in gorgeous surroundings (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Dec 2018
Jody D. - Swisher, IA
My family had a lovely stay at the chalet the weekend before Christmas. The house is adorable, spacious, and clean. The view is spectacular!! We enjoyed the pool and gymnasium at the owners club. The WiFi worked well... a must with teenagers. We ended each night gathered around the cozy woodburning fireplace.
Published Jan 4, 2019

Stunning. Beautiful. Like out of of painting, indoors and outdoors (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Dec 2018
Dina I. - Chicago
Clean, comfortable, spacious, kids’ amenities like a high chair, toys, etc. Every nook and cranny of this gorgeous property has been thoughtfully decorated and is so accommodating to all guests. Even the little details like the usb outlets for people to charge their devices in each room. The wood burning fireplace was a highlight and we used it every night. The smell of a real fire is just so comforting. Stephanie responded to all our questions immediately and the entry to get in and out was seamless and easy. We recommended this home to all our friends and family in Chicago and we’ll be back next year for sure.
Published Dec 21, 2018

Beautiful house, amazing views! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Dec 2018
Niki C.
We stayed at the Galena Chalet last weekend, (3 couples, 2 babies) and from the moment we walked in, the view took our breath away. Beautiful house, spacious house, well decorated, amazing deck with grill and outdoor heater. Stephanie was a great host, answered all our questions quickly. Really have nothing negative to say and we would gladly stay there again.
Published Dec 14, 2018

"Stunning View" (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Nov 2018
Susan E.
The holidays come alive when you gather with your family. There is no better gathering place than the Chalet. The stunning view immediately engulfs you and holds you captive for your entire stay. The table, already set for the holiday dinner and the immense fire place soon to be crackling with a festive fire, help make the Chalet a unique and wonderful holiday experience.

Published Jan 4, 2019


“Gulls” 60th bday celebration (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Nov 2018
Joan D. - Western Springs, IL
The house is spacious, cozy and lovely - With a beautiful view to Lake Galena! We had horrible weather, but it didn’t matter since the house was so gorgeous and had so many amenities, we didn’t want to leave! We will definitely put this house on our list of rental “Keepers “!
Published Nov 19, 2018

Booking was a breeze (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Oct 2018
Galena Chamber of Commerce 
We loved working with the owners to book this beautiful home and couldn't have asked for a simpler, more friendly experience. Kudos to the Chalet team for great customer service and attention to detail only the best hosts can provide!
Published Nov 5, 2018

Amazing property with beautiful views (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Aug 2018
Amazing property with beautiful views. We really enjoyed hanging out on the deck. The owners are very nice and responsive. Would definitely recommend and go back.
Published Sep 4, 2018

Beautiful inside and out (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Aug 2018
Renette S. - Chicago
The home was just perfect for our ladies getaway. Stephanie was so easy to work with and everything went off without a hitch. Thanks again for the cupcakes; they were delicious!
Published Aug 9, 2018

Beautiful, unique house! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2018
Gregory
We loved our stay at the chalet. The deck and screened in porch were amazing and Stephanie was a great host with great communication. We would absolutely stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

Published Aug 14, 2018


Outstanding! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2018
AMANDA K.
Recently Booked a girls weekend getaway and this completely exceeded our expectations! The house was incredibly warm and welcoming, and was stocked with literally everything you could possibly need! The best part of the house was the amazing deck and view. We loved sitting outside morning, noon and evening playing cards and just enjoying the scenery. The owners are incredibly attentive and responded to any questions we had within minutes. I personally will be booking another stay at this house in the future- and every single girlfriend said the same!

Published Jul 25, 2018

Nice house (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jun 2018
Valentin L.
Great house , amazing views. Located in a very quiet place. 
It did satisfy our expectations
I recommend it !!!
Published Jul 9, 2018

Far exceeded our expectations (5/5 Stars)
Stayed May 2018
Betsy W.
Our family spent the Memorial Day weekend at the chalet. Let me start by saying Stephanie was a wonderful host. She provided rapid responses to our questions and was happy to accommodate special requests.
The home is beautiful. There is nothing that feels “rental” about this house. As large as it is, it felt cozy and comfortable. We loved the open floor plan. That was very important to the cooks in our family.
Of coarse our favorite part was the million dollar view, which can be seen by most rooms in the house. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Published May 29, 2018

The Charming Chalet (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Nov 2017
Susan E.
This house was perfect for our family Thanksgiving celebration. We arrived to the charming Chalet on Thursday morning to find a beautiful set table for ten. The Chalet has a unique style and we appreciate all the efforts and detail that went into decorating it. The wrap around deck is fabulous, so very comfortable with a beautiful view.
We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to a return visit.
Published Dec 15, 2017

Amazing House  (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Nov 2017
Hateem B.
We loved it

Published Nov 13, 2017


Simply Stunning! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Oct 2017
Kristin H.
There is nothing to say other than breathtaking. The detail the owners have put into this house is so thoughtful, you feel like you’re truly at someone’s home and not a rental. The views are outrageous, too! And that dining table and chandelier: gimme!! Loved our stay ❤️

Published Oct 30, 2017

Beautiful Home That Epitomizes Galena (5/5 Stars) 
Stayed Oct 2017
Anne O. - Chicago
This home is beautiful and exceeded our expectations. Rustic sophistication comes to mind. Four couples rented it for an October weekend, but we all said it would be perfect in any season. The view is gorgeous, and the interior is just as amazing as the outside. Everyone felt very at ease. The kitchen is well-equipped and set up in a way that made cooking and visiting with friends easy and fun. We loved the deck and the screened porch. All the bedrooms were very inviting, the beds comfortable, and the living room was perfect for a gathering. If I ever return to Galena with friends, this is the house I want to stay in. It captured every aspect of the beauty of Galena. I can't say enough about it.

Published Oct 30, 2017

Great getaway (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Sep 2017
Sanjay S.
Very nice home with outstanding decor. Lights and internet were a little touchy but the owner helped get it sorted out. Great stay, would definitely return.

Published Sep 13, 2017

Peaceful (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jul 2017
Russell S.
Every year our family takes a trip. We look for different location each time. This by far has been the best location we have found. The view from the deck was incredible. Plenty of space and separation. I would recommend this location to anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful weekend.

Published Aug 3, 2017

Wonderful place!!!! (5/5 Stars) 
Stayed Jul 2017
Can T.
This is a very beautiful place. So relaxing! Very peaceful. I would come back every year!!

Published Jul 10, 2017

Amazing Deck! (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jun 2017
We loved our stay at the Chalet. We basically lived on the deck. It had a great set up, with plenty of space for our group (8 people) to all be together. The location was great. The inside was beautifully decorated. We had a blast and would definitely go back to the Chalet on our next visit.

Published Aug 7, 2017

Great Place to Stay-Beautiful Views (5/5 Stars)
Stayed Jun 2017
Todd T. - Central Illinois
Great view and fantastic location. Our family had an enjoyable time relaxing on the beautiful, large deck overlooking the lake at Galena where we watched bald eagles nesting in the area. The property was private and quiet. With the summer foliage, the Chalet was completely secluded from the sight of any other neighboring houses, yet it is only a short drive to downtown Galena and its many shops, restaurants, and historical locations. The Chalet was beautifully decorated and its two levels provided plenty of room and comfortable, nice looking furniture. A large natural wooden table just outside the kitchen could accommodate a very large group. Bedrooms were roomy and comfortable. Large windows on let in plenty of sun and offered a fantastic view of the lake even from indoors. We also used the two large screen televisions, pool table, and Bluetooth stereo system. Large screened-in porch was also nice to use and was well furnished. Our family spent a lot of our vacation just relaxing and enjoying the home. The owner was very responsive regarding pre-check-in questions and was in contact with us to make sure we were enjoying our stay. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return if vacationing again in Galena.
Todd Turner

Published Jun 20, 2017